2.5mm armoured cable for shed - sanity check please

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I intend to run 2.5mm armoured cable (underground) to my shed and then use a Garage Kit from B+Q (1 RCD and 2 MCBs) in the shed. 1 MCB for light circuit and 1 for a double plug socket.

I then intend to ask a Sparky to connect the armoured cable to the fusebox in my house.

I am no expert but i assume this will form a 'Radial Circuit' and I have read this set up would require a 4mm cable?

Will i be okay with 2.5mm considering there will be a single double socket and a light?

Thanks guys

Sponsored Links
I intend to run 2.5mm armoured cable (underground) to my shed and then use a Garage Kit from B+Q (1 RCD and 2 MCBs) in the shed. 1 MCB for light circuit and 1 for a double plug socket.

I then intend to ask a Sparky to connect the armoured cable to the fusebox in my house.

I am no expert but i assume this will form a 'Radial Circuit' and I have read this set up would require a 4mm cable?

Will i be okay with 2.5mm considering there will be a single double socket and a light?

Thanks guys

Much more info needed to answer that question!

What is the type & rating of the OPD (MCB) in the house CU that will protect the SWA run to the shed?

What are the ratings of the OPDs (MCBs) in the shed CU?

What is the total length of the SWA run?

What is the greatest length of the cabling IN the shed to (a) lights and (b) socket.

What type of earthing system do you have in the house?

Are their any metallic service (water, gas, oil ) pipes entering the shed?

All of these may influence the size and type of cable needed, and the possible need for an earth rod at the shed.

What is the type & rating of the OPD (MCB) in the house CU that will protect the SWA run to the shed?

Two circuit breakers in series will not provide selectivity between the distribution circuit and final circuits.

Depends on their size, but on 2.5, it is highly unlikely.

Sponsored Links