2 radiators not working

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'm new here, so hello all!

Radiator 1) my radiator in my living room doesn't work, although one of the pipes running to it seems to contain warm(ish) water, the valve is set to 5 on the "Westherm" valve and I've given it a bit of a smack about to see if it gets working, but it turns up and down fine. I can bleed it and the water comes out cold.

Radiator 2) This one is in the hall just behind the front door and has recently been working, but now doesn't get warm, and has older looking valves, both of which I've turned to the maximum.

can anyone advise on either radiator please? I am a complete novice but willing to try stuff to get them sorted. I just fear I have "sludge" in my system which is clogging them up.

Sponsored Links
You are probably right is your diagnosis. Can you take the rads into the garden to flush them?

You may well have sludge but 1st remove the trv heads and check the pin fully extends and check the valve on the other end as well.Have you tried turning all other rads off and seeing if that has any effect?

derekpotter";p="1811404 said:
Remove the heads from the TRVs by unscrewing the knurled nut that holds it on the valve, you will see a pin on the valve that should move up and down when you press down on it, if this does not happen it means that the pin is stuck down. By using a broad flat screwdriver press down on this pin as hard as you can and then let the screwdriver slip off of the pin. Keep doing this and the pin should eventually spring up so that it will move up and down.

Regards

spraggo

Sponsored Links
You are probably right is your diagnosis. Can you take the rads into the garden to flush them?

I would have absolutely no idea how to do this, not something i'd attempt on my own I'm afraid, I daren't even twist these valves normally in case they leak etc! :oops: although I'm getting annoyed with having no heating now!

Thanks for the advice though!