3 spots replacing a single light, do i need spurs?

T

Tim Mackey

hi,
i bought 3 halogen spotlights that don't need transformers. i have them fitted but not wired. i removed the existing single light fitting (one switch for one light) and there were 3 wires going in to it: 2 blue and 1 brown.
the halogen lights are independant of each other, but i want them all to work off the existing switch, so i do i need to add 2 spurs off the existing circuit?
the light instructions say the lights are double insulated and shouldn't be earthed.
thanks for any help.
tim mackey. a newbie.

Sponsored Links
you wire them in paralell.
(but you must STILL connect the earths)
see for reference

hey breezer. thanks for the quick reply. just one or two clarifications.. i'm not a trained electrician, but i can do simple jobs and follow instructions carefully if i am clued in at every stage, so i appreciate you spelling out the steps.

i found your diagram with lights in parallel. and i can see that i'll need to buy some new cable to reach around to the 3 new halogen lights from the old rose location. what type of cables should i get? they will be running on top or under loft insulation.

with regard to the earthing.. all i can see from the old light is 2 blue and 1 brown cable. i take this to mean that i don't need to do any earthing with the new light fittings? the 2 blue cables go into the same terminal in the rose fitting, can you explain how these cables will fit into the new circuit design? one at least i'm sure will plug in to the first terminal in the parallel circuit, but what about the other blue cable?

sincere thanks for any help
tim

i can not take credit for the parallel drawing.
use 1.5 mm twin and earth cable
put a jucntion box where the ceiling rose was, and wire it as the rose is now, excepth where the pendnant lamp is the new t&e cable goes to the first light etc.