1. We are pleased to announce the 'Home Automation' forum. Click here to get involved!

4 way LNB

Discussion in 'Audio Visual' started by yottie, 1 Apr 2012.

  1. yottie

    Joined:
    3 Jun 2007
    Messages:
    341
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Have just started using Freesat via my Sky dish and LNB. Am thinking of getting a recording unit for Freesat. I take it I will need at least a dual lnb, for what reason would any-one need a quad lnb which I see is available.
     
  2. gregers

    Joined:
    28 Mar 2008
    Messages:
    5,910
    Thanks Received:
    453
    Location:
    Sussex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    my lnb has 6 ports on it,
    2 needed downstairs on main tv hd plus(sky)
    2 needed in my bedroom plus
    and 1 each to the other 2 bedrooms for normal sky.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. streetlighter

    Joined:
    14 Jan 2007
    Messages:
    791
    Thanks Received:
    43
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If its a standard Sky dish they don't make a dual LNB only a quad or octo. Advantage of the quad is two spare ports for either two single tuner boxes in other rooms or an extra twin tuner box.
     
  4. yottie

    Joined:
    3 Jun 2007
    Messages:
    341
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's a dish and lnb I bought online for DIY installation and free Sky reception.
    I've just purchased a freesat box and have disconnected the dish from the sky box and connected it to the Freesat box. Was thinking of a recorder for Freesat in future, am I right in assuming a quad lnb will give me facilities to eventually run Freesat and Sky (free) side by side, both with recording facilities (with the proper boxes of course) Do I need an adapter to fit a quad lnb to the present holder on the Sky type dish.
    Many thanks.
     
  5. streetlighter

    Joined:
    14 Jan 2007
    Messages:
    791
    Thanks Received:
    43
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Depends on the type of SKy dish and the LNB you have bought, the latest LNBs for the current MK4 minidish need a what's called a legacy adaptor to fit the older type dishes. Not many quads will fit the original 1998 channel master MK1 minidish.

    A picture of the dish would be good.

    Fitting the quad would allow a freesat plus and SKy plus box to work from the same dish two outputs to each recording box.
     
  6. yottie

    Joined:
    3 Jun 2007
    Messages:
    341
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks, I've since measured the section that the lnb fits into @ 20x30mm.
    Seems to me as though it's a Mk3 ??
     
  7. Sam Gangee

    Joined:
    24 Jan 2003
    Messages:
    1,547
    Thanks Received:
    238
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    See the info. here: http://www.satcure.co.uk/accs/quad_sky_lnb.htm
    You should be able to determine what you have from that.

    (The only difference between MK2 & MK3 was that one used a separate plastic "pin" and one used plastic "tags" to secure the LNB holder in the arm.)
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1

Share This Page