Adding Solar and additional thermal store

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I'm fairly new to the renewables field but having recently moved into an older property on an exposed coastal site, I've started looking into various possibilities for improving both efficiency and energy storage. The house is a detached upside down style with a stepped footing on a sloping site and being almost South facing with a large glazing area, solar gain is considerable. We have installed a 4KW grid tied solar PV system just over 2 years ago and I fitted an Immersun unit at the same time. Last year I replaced our traditional gravity DHW cylinder with a Telford 280Litre Thermal Store. This enabled me to capture much more of the spare energy generated by the PV array with the TS immersion heater mounted low in the cylinder compared with the old top mounted cylinder but even this is normally satisfied by lunchtime during the sunny summer days.
The Telford has 2 coils, one Solar coil and one for auxiliary heat source, both currently unused but I'm planning to install solar thermal in the near future. The main boiler in the house feeds directly to the feeds on the thermal store and the radiator system is coupled directly to the boiler at present from dedicated tappings and is completely separate with own flow, return, pump and 2 port valve. (Oil fired boiler 120,000BTU). The Telford has 2 additional tappings which are intended to feed heating system and my intention is to use these for supplementary under-floor heating as I install it during renovation work in the near future. So far, since moving into the property, I have halved my first year's annual oil consumption so I guess it is more efficient than the original oil only setup but I would like to extend the Solar capabilities of the house to allow greater energy generation and capture.