Advice - Issues with painting wood

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi

I am painting my internal window sills. I had sanded them with 80 sandpaper and rubbed them down. I have applied FOUR coats of Primer/undercoat and it is still going yellow. (I am using homebase wood primer/undercoat)

Here is picture of one of the other window sills in the house;

Here is picture of window sill i have painted with undercoat 4 times;

(Sorry It might be a little difficult to see in photos)

I thought by 3rd coat that it would go away, but within seconds of painting it starts going yellow again. I am new to painting but thought I did correct thing. Can anyone help me here?

I am also painting fire surround. This is looking much better. I have just applied 3rd coat and its looking good but I do have a few patches of yellow staining again;

Before;

After;

- Some yellow stains on side near top

Inside top right area some stains

Once again I sanded this all down. Should I be worried about these little patches, as I will probably be applying 2 coats of finish? The fire surround will be finished in a cream/ivory type colour (undecided yet!).

The window sills I want to be white!

Sponsored Links
It's common for water soluble stains to come through water based paint. There's all manner of stain sealers, even in spray cans, but ordinary, traditional, oil based undercoat paint will usually stop it in its tracks.
Two thin coats would be good otherwise you can get "spotting" if a pinprick isn't covered. A little white spirit thins the paint a lot and makes go on fast and dry much quicker.

I'm assuming you are using water based paint as that is what quick drying, combined, primer/undercoats generally are.