Advice on drilling 20mm hole in high-gloss MDF kitchen unit

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi All,

I'm a DIY newbie. I've recently moved into a house with a newly fitted kitchen. The units are white high-gloss units in what I presume are MDF panels. I need to plumb in a coffee machine and would like to know what tools are best for drilling a clean hole about 20mm into a panel to fit the plumbing. I have a cordless 13.2V drill. Would drilling into gloss veener risk cracking the finish? My other option was to drill into the worktop but that was a no no. I also thought of drilling a hole into the sink and using a sheet metal punch but I couldn't make a hole in the sink in the first place!

Any advice would be most helpful.

Cheers

Steve

Sponsored Links
Get a 20mm bosch progressor holesaw and hex arbor. It will do the sink no probs. Start with a very small (-2mm) pilot hole.

These saws also do wonders in wood too.

The cheaper option would be a decent (and sharp) 20mm flat spade bit.

The units are going to be chipboard beneath the veneer, 99% of kitchen units are.

Thanks for the suggestions. I forgot to say that I bought a QMax 20mm sheet metal punch to cut a hole in the sink. Would the arbor be sharp enough to cut a hole in the stainless steel? Is there another option for drilling a hole big enough to fit the nut that comes with the metal punch (around 8mm in diameter). I'm a bit wary of drilling into the sink in case I botch it! Drilling metal requires a lot of force, doesn't it?

If I go down the drilling into veneered Chipboard route, would both the flat spade bit and the holesaw give a clean finish? Is there a risk of cracking of the veneer?

I thinking drilling into wood might be the simpler option. Cheers.