baxi boiler prv leaking and pressure dropping?

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by RACH3, 12 Jun 2010.

  1. RACH3

    Joined:
    12 Jun 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northumberland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have recently replaced a radiator and topped up my baxi boiler pressure. Then noticed a leak coming from radiator (only small) and when checked the pressure was at 3.5. I used the prv (red cap) to release the pressure and now the prv is still dripping, not loads but it is causing pressure to slowly drop on boiler! Also there is still a very small slow leak coming from radiator on one side. What is the problem? Do I need to get someone out to sort the prv problem?
     
  2. adlplumbing

    Joined:
    9 Dec 2009
    Messages:
    4,509
    Thanks Received:
    381
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    some thing got stuck inside the prv stoping it shutting down properly
    could fixed by removing it and cleaning or replacing it not hard job
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. gas112

    Joined:
    27 Oct 2009
    Messages:
    9,330
    Thanks Received:
    2,355
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Try spinning it a few time muck on the valve seat can sometimes be cleaned off doing that
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. Benjibalz

    Joined:
    4 Aug 2008
    Messages:
    48
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bath
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Open the filling loop and the prv at the same time to flush mains water through it, should clear any c**p.

    Sometimes they just wont stop dripping though and need to be changed.

    The prv should normally discharge a 3bar so if the pressure in the boiler was 3.5bar its faulty and needs replacing sharpish.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  5. matt1e

    Joined:
    13 Dec 2008
    Messages:
    2,227
    Thanks Received:
    231
    Location:
    Tyne and Wear
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    and so does your expansion vessel (or it may just need recharged if your lucky) unless the excess pressure was caused by you putting in to much when you changed the rad

    Matt
     

Share This Page