Boiler at Risk

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi – this isn’t really a DIY question because I’m not qualified to carry out any work on my boiler, but I hoped for a little bit of advice.

We had our boiler serviced last week by our gas company – it was their initial inspection after we signed up for their boiler cover.

They slapped an at risk sticker on it because they say the CO2 readings are way too high. Fair enough, it is ancient (Potterton Flamingo II). They suggested that I should buy one of their carbon monoxide monitors as it’s a potential danger to me and my family, should the flue ever get blocked. They also suggested that I should buy a new boiler and arranged for a sales person to come round on Friday.

So, a few questions:

- I’m no expert, but I don’t think a carbon monoxide monitor would monitor CO2? (I’ll buy one anyway, but still...)?
- Wouldn’t any boiler (old or new) be a hazard if the flue got blocked?
- The sales-person who came round on Friday told me I’d need to get the pipe-work that runs from the boiler to the HW cylinder upgraded from 22mm to 28mm – does this sound right?

Many thanks.

Sponsored Links
You or the engineer may have been confused by CO and CO2.

The BG engineers gets commission of about £25 for arranging a quotation.

You do not need anything larger than 22 mm to heat the cylinder.

Why on earth dont you trust an independent ? We are less likely to cut you off as we dont get commission like BG etc..

Tony

Thanks a lot. Even the paperwork report that they posted says "CO2". Like I said, I'll get a CO monitor anyway for safety's sake.

I definitely wouldn't buy a boiler from BG (or any of the other companies) - they're much more expensive (I discovered when I replaced the boiler in my last house). I suppose they have to pay for expensive TV ads etc.

Thanks again for your help.

They have to make a profit for their shareholders!

Sponsored Links