Building Regs Sign Off

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I'm about to start on a large Extension on my House which will include an installation of a Kitchen. I plan to do all the wiring myself which will include installation of a new Ring (For Kitchen) 2 x Radial power circuits for Hob / Cookers and lighting radials.

However, as I am not an 'Electrician' I plan to ask one of my collegues to sign this work off for me. One is timeserved but who's CSE card has expired or one who is Time Served and currently has his own company. Would this be acceptable for building control in Scotland? If so which one would you ask?

For information, I myself am an Electrical Engineer and whilst I have been working as an Industrial spark (in one for or other) for 18 years I haven't done the apprenticeship etc. I do have the 17th Edition and HND in Electrical Engineering along with C&Gs isn HV Switching & Protection. So feel pretty comfortable with doing this work.

But just wanted to make sure this would fly??

Thanks in advance

Sponsored Links
However, as I am not an 'Electrician' I plan to ask one of my collegues to sign this work off for me. One is timeserved but who's CSE card has expired or one who is Time Served and currently has his own company. Would this be acceptable for building control in Scotland? If so which one would you ask?
I would ask Building Control. Tell them exactly what you plan to do, and see which person they would prefer you to engage.

For information, I myself am an Electrical Engineer and whilst I have been working as an Industrial spark (in one for or other) for 18 years I haven't done the apprenticeship etc. I do have the 17th Edition and HND in Electrical Engineering along with C&Gs isn HV Switching & Protection. So feel pretty comfortable with doing this work.
Tell Building Control all of that too - it is relevant to them in assessing whether they will accept your plan.

But just wanted to make sure this would fly??