Building Tolerance On Room Size

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
What's a std acceptable deviation from the room size shown on a plan against the actual finished size?

We're have some work done & the room is 10mm undersize before the dot & dab goes on.

Sponsored Links
10mm! Is this a joke? That would equate to 5mm each side.

You need to submit more info' and give us some perspective.

If say you were building a billion dollar Hadron collider and tolerances were important then the consequences could be enormous.

If however you are building a poxy extension and mebbe the sofa will interfere with the coffee table you had planned then tough, you should always do a final measure once the plaster is skimmed.

Same with a kitchen.

Nah, this is deffo a wind-up innit?

No joke, just a sensible question, I'm a mechanical design engineer, not a builder. If I asked you the tolerances on say, a land speed record car, could you tell me? NO, thought not. That's my field of expertise, designing F1 cars & LSR cars, not buildings.

The finished sizes are looking at being 60mm under the minimum stated on the agreement with the builder, not really an issue, just curiosity.

Sponsored Links
That's my field of expertise, designing F1 cars & LSR cars, not buildings.

My fields of expertise are designing space ships, nuclear power stations and ballistic missiles and I soon learned that building is not precision engineering

The finished sizes are looking at being 60mm under the minimum stated on the agreement with the builder, not really an issue, just curiosity.
What do you mean by this?

The external building size is smaller or the internal size?

There are several things that can influence either parameter so the builder would not be able to promise you anything, rather just give you an approximate size.

Also it is more difficult to achieve the smaller the building is.

The finished sizes are looking at being 60mm under the minimum stated