Can I fit my own Boiler??

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
please help me as i'm not quite sure of the legal issues involved. I've decided to change my existing boiler for a new worcester 30CDI convential n all the trimmings. please bare in mind that i was an NVQ2 qualified plumber for eight years or so and i packed it in a few years back (wasn't good for the knees). so i know how it all works etc. obviously i'm not CORGI registered or have any gas qualifications. What I need to know is, am i legally able to install the appliance (including flue) and pipe it up? obviously i wont be able to touch the gas supply, but if i called out an engineer to install the gas supply and benchmark the appliance would that be ok? or even, could i install the gas supply completely, but leave it open at the meter end ready for the final connection by a qualified engineer? hmmm? please could someone help with my little brain pickle

Sponsored Links
Your house, your boiler, do what you want.

I will leave the legal argument to others.

Take some advice and find yourself a corgi before fitting your boiler and get his/her advice on what they would be happy for you to do and what they are prepared to do, to allow them to certify the installation.

Legally YES

BUT, you need to prove competency if something goes wrong. (Agile is top draw on this stuff and may disagree but its how I understand it after a CORGI inspect week before last.)

Only way to prove that...be CORGI registered.

I assume you will be doing a full system cleanse before filling your new boiler with sludge.

David

Sponsored Links
This area is one that needs lots of investigation in order to sort the facts from opinions.

Corgi have a friendly helpline, you can find the number at:-
http://www.corgi-gas-safety.com/

The Gas connection, without exception requires a qualified person to connect / work on gas.

However, gas men are not plumbers / heat engineers by trade.