Can I replace a pop-up waste with click clack (push button)?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi folks,
DIY noob here. I'm pretty sure its possible to do a straight swap between pop-up and push button basin wastes but wanted to check. Of course the basin is plumbed in (pedestal) so I'm assuming it might be a fiddle with access (and for this reason I might get a professional in as I don't want any leaks!) but before I order a tap just wanted to make sure my basic assumptions were correct!

I currently have a tap with integral pop-up waste system but the taps I am considering to replace it with don't use pop-up. My preference is to go push button as it seems simpler and less prone to problems.

thanks in advance
Andrew

Sponsored Links
Click clack wastes have their own problems of course if the mechanism fails. Nothing beats an old manual plug :)

As long as the waste you are installing is sized correctly to the basin outlet and whether it needs to be slotted or not, then swapping is pretty straightforward.

Yes that will be fine. A good move in fact as pop ups are rubbish

Sponsored Links
Had a closer look at the sink and it looks like access to replace the waste will be very tricky... the pedestal is sealed in partially (as is the sink), do you still think it's a doable job to be able to get round the back and replace the pop-up waste without ripping up the surround?

I suppose I might still be able to replace the tap without replacing the waste, if I source a tap with the requisite hole in the back, but ideally I would have wanted to put in a push button waste too.

cheers

Not easy doing it in situ. Could you remove the basin leaving the pedestal in place? You could then change the taps and waste before refitting the basin and redoing the silicone.

As Denso mentions, not easy getting in behind, and one or the other may need moved. It really depends on how tight the waste is fitted.