Central Heating Boiler in Holiday Home (Caravan)

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have a static caravan that is fitted with gas central heating. For 6 weeks each year I am not permitted to use the caravan (Jan - Mar) and all services are disconnected (gas, water & electricity). How can I protect my gas boiler from frost damage other than to drain it down each year or, is this the only option? I did not drain it down this year but spent the entire 6 weeks worrying about the boiler - fortunately, everything was ok.

Sponsored Links
I have never needed to use it so I am no expert but I believe you can get antifreeze suitable for heating systems. Contact Fernox or Sentinal for advice of dosing/ suitability before use.

X500 but expensive last time I bought it was about £80 but you get about a gallon for that.

I would just drain the system down or not depending on where you are.

hi
i had static on a site in towyn (wales)with a worcester 24i,and on shutdown each year the site maintainance crew used to drain all the vans down for winter then refill and test ready for re-opening in march,this service was included in the site fees,gas and elec safety checks were charged seperate though,approach your site manager to see if they offer the same kind of service,saves you the worry plus you know your system has been drained and filled with nice clean water every year.

Sponsored Links
....you know your system has been drained and filled with nice clean water every year.

So what about the scale deposited in the heat exchanger every re-fill? What about the fibre washers drying out? What about the pump siezing up? What about the boiler auto air vents leaking afterwards? Sounds a mad idea to me...bet it used to generate plenty of extra work for them.

Modern boilers run the pump and cycle the diverter valve daily (when not used) to stop them siezing up..could they not leave the power on?