central heating not working

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
As part of my pre winter home check i tried my central heating, unfortunately it does work.

I have some knowledge of my system in a DIY capacity, In the past(over 2 houses) i have changed a pump, 3 way valve, 2 way valve, moved and added rads. I apologise if i havent used the correct terminology for various parts

I have a non pressurised system (have a header tank) with a back boiler (behind the fire) with thermostatic valves and no thermostat There is a 3way valve that goes to hot water or central heating or both. The boiler was fitted about 6 years ago. The header tank is full to where is normally is. I have bled the rads and they are all full of water.

The controler has 4 settings for hot water and 4 for central heating , 24hrs, timed, on and off

If i turn both of them to off and them turn the water on, I can hear the 3 way valve move and the pump turn on. If, on the other hand, i turn both of them off and turn the central heating on, i cant hear the 3way valve move and the pump stays off, 2 of the rads have been turned up to max(6)

I think this points to the 3 way valve being faulty. However when the boiler was fitted, a new 3 way valve was fitted, this failed after just over 2 years (the central heating came on when the only the hot water was being called for) which i replaced. This could be a coincidence but i suspect not. Also I was under the understanding that these valves are designed to fail on rather than off

The only other problem i have had was when the pipe that comes down from the header tank blocked where it meets the horizontal pipe of the system

Thanks

Sponsored Links
Right so it sounds like you have a MID position 3 port valve.. Does the boiler have a pilot light or is it self igniting? Does the boiler fire? IS the boiler stat turned up? Does the HW get hot at all?

the boiler has a electric starter- no pilot light

the boiler does fire