Changing lights

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
O, I am a gas safe engineer so know some basic electrics, but want to check this out first.

IN the room off from my bedroom, there is a single halogen light.
This switches on and off via a switch on the wall (funnily enough)
From what I can see, the wire from the light switch goes up to a tranformer, whic then goes to the single halogen. But, coming back out the 240v side of the transformer (looks like someone bodged it) is another grey wire going to a white box, from here there is two balck wires powering an extraction fan, which comes on when the light is on, and goes off 5mins aftee the light is off. Then there is another grey wire, again from the white box, heading off to somewhere. Treies to follow it but could trace it, i assume it goes to a junction box elsewhere.

Hopefully you are still with me. What i want to do, is swap the single, recessed halogen, with a standard halogeg (3 bulb) fitting. I was going to just remove the transformer and wire the light fitting as normal, but with this fan being connected in is confusing me.

So to recap.

2 grey wire from light socket enter into attic, 1 dissapears, 1 goes to the transformer.
Halogen is conected the transformer as normal.
ANother grey wire comes from transformer 230v end, and enters a white box (same size as an external light socket)
a grey wire leaves this white box and goes somewhere undetermined.
2 black wires leave this box and powers an extraction fan.

Heres a pic to help

37000_36405_34215_93426101_thumb.jpg
[/url][/img]

Sponsored Links
Is the fan low voltage?

Perhaps the white box is a fan transformer.

The grey cable may be a permanent live wire, as fans with timers need this for the over-run facility.