1. We are pleased to announce the 'Home Automation' forum. Click here to get involved!

Combined fused spur and socket?

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by Hibbo, 9 Dec 2009.

  1. Hibbo

    Joined:
    25 Apr 2006
    Messages:
    105
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    West Lothian
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hello!

    I'm going to be running a fused spur, it will be taken from where there is currently a standard double socket. In the interests of efficiency (ie laziness), I am wondering if a combined fused spur and single socket unit is available that would fit in the same back-box as the current double socket. I've never seen such a thing, and I'm guessing I'll have to install a new box for the spur, but I just thought I'd ask!

    Cheers.
     
  2. holmslaw

    Joined:
    12 Dec 2006
    Messages:
    5,841
    Thanks Received:
    400
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  3. PrenticeBoyofDerry

    Joined:
    30 Jun 2009
    Messages:
    18,951
    Thanks Received:
    1,991
    Location:
    Londonderry
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hibbo,
    does the spur need to be fused?
    how many sockets will you be running from it?
    can you extend the circuit rater than spur?
     
  4. Hibbo

    Joined:
    25 Apr 2006
    Messages:
    105
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    West Lothian
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The spur will be supplying a garden shed, that's why I want it to be fused (and switchable). I know the best plan would be to run it from an extra breaker at the CU, but I have decided to go with a spur from the kitchen.

    It has to be flush mounted really, so for the work involved to fit the dual box I may as well just fit an extra single...

    Thanks for the replies
     
  5. ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    51,652
    Thanks Received:
    2,020
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    How far away is the garden shed?

    What will the load be in it?

    What type and size of cable will you be using?

    How will the cable be installed?

    Is the circuit you're spurring from RCD protected?

    What type of supply do you have?

    Are there any extraneous-conductive-parts in the shed?

    What tests will you carry out on the cable once installed?
     
  6. Chri5

    Joined:
    19 Jan 2007
    Messages:
    4,107
    Thanks Received:
    366
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    [​IMG]


    Since it takes a 13a fuse surely it counts as a f/spur with sockets :D
     
  7. ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    51,652
    Thanks Received:
    2,020
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'd love to see you use one to supply a permanently connected cable on the load side of the fuse.... :D
     
  8. Hibbo

    Joined:
    25 Apr 2006
    Messages:
    105
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    West Lothian
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There will be two 60w lamps, and a couple of sockets (which will have nothing more demanding than basic power-tools plugged in to them). A 13A supply will be plenty.

    I am using 2.5mm^2 SWA cable, the run will be about 30m. It will be secured to a brick wall.

    The house has a TNC-S supply, and has a 30mA RCD protecting the kitchen circuit from where the spur will be taken.

    There are no extraneous-conductive parts in the shed (it's entirely wooden)

    I will Meggar the complete spur before I connect it to the FCU, and after connection I'll do an earth-fault-loop impedance test from the shed.

    Thanks for you concerns, does my plan sound safe?
     

Share This Page