confused by non-functioning BT master socket

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello folks,

First let me say I am definitely not the DIY type, so please bear with my ignorance. If not for the recession I'd just pay BT to solve the problem I'm about to outline, but they want £129.99 to fix a problem I didn't cause..

Short story is - we just bought a house. It has four telephone sockets. One master and three others which seem to have been bodged up by some clown (cables running up walls, through the airing cupboard etc).

Only one socket works, and it's not the master.

When I open the master socket (NTE5), there are no wires attached to the faceplate. Nor does the test socket work. I can't ring in to a phone attached to that socket. Nothing. Dead as a dodo.

My question? What's going on? How do I get the master socket working?

Any help much appreciated, but please keep it as simple as possible. I have no knowledge of how this stuff works! Thanks.

Sponsored Links
has the line been disconnected at the exchange by bt ie if then previous owner cancelled there contract the line may have been disabled

If you have just bought the house then either you either need a new contract with BT ( or some other telephone service provider ) or you need to transfer your existing contract to your new house.

As you have proven that the master socket is dead then to satisfy the new or relocated contract to provide service BT have to get that master socket connected. This should be done at NO charge to you.

How do you know that the socket that works is not the master? master doesn't nessacerally mean NTE5.