controlling to sets of garden lights from one 2 gang switch

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi guys i am new to the forum so i appologise if this question has been asked before, i want to control 2 seperate sets of lights in my garden,from
one 2gang switch, i will come off the ring main with a fused spur,which is RCD protected at the fuse board. do i need a 2gang single pole switch or 2gang double pole switch ip65? do i use flex or cable from FCU to switch,
3or4 core cable then i was going to use rubber flex in conduit into wiska boxes with waterproof glands, is this ok, or i have done SWA terminations before but this is a bit time consuming as im not a pro.!! P.S i live in a basement so no access to any loft space. etc. so i will have to come off the ring main with a FCU, thanks for any help guys :?: chunkykev.

Sponsored Links
two gang single pole switch plate will be okay, as you will have double pole isolation at the FCU.
You can use either flex(3 core) or cable(twin and earth)
The external cable will need to be suitable for the environment and routed/and or protected for provisions against mechanical damage, frost, sunlight, fauna, flora and enclosures protected against water ingress.

thanks for the advise prenticeboy, could you give me advice as to the connections at the 2 gang switch,two seperate cables or flex coming into the switch from the garden lights, plus the cable or flex from the FCU into switch, 3 cables in all?
or should the 2 sets of garden lights be wired into a garden box(wiska)
then onto the two gang switch??? :?: thanks

You will have a two gang plate:
Gang one (light one) Likely to have terminals of COM-L1-L2.
Gang two (light two) As above.

Step one:
The cable incoming from the FCU will have:
Brown (line)
Blue (neutral)
Green/Yellow (CPC/earth) this could be bare but will require sleeving Green/Yellow
Cable going to lights as above.

Step two:
At the switch plate on gang one (light one):
Terminate incoming cable from FCU as so: