converting a house into flats

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
am thinking of converting my house into 3 flats
i have worked out how to do this as its big enough

just a question on the water supply

do i need to get 2 new water mains put in?

or can i split them into 3 plastic pipes at the start of my property to supply each flat

how are flats normally done regarding the water supply?

Sponsored Links
not as of yet but have not started yet am just working out a few things first and this is one of the things i am unsure of

i would think there would be no problem in getting permission
but will cross that bridge when i have sorted a few things out that i need to know

Okay,normally the water company will fit 1 water meter for each flat but having said that I'm not a legal expert regarding if you're going to be a landlord or selling of each flat etc. Best to ring the water company.

Sponsored Links
if i was to make it into flats i would rent them

but i know the water company will connect into there mains for free aslong as you have a trench dug about 1metre deep with the blue water pipe in was unsure weather you could t off into 3 seperate pipes.
and if this is the way you would do it for flats.

and would there be a need for water meters as i have no water meter at the min just thought probley would get 3 water bills.

anyway suppose i will ring the water board tomorrow ask them

i will post what they tell me anyway

For one thing, everyone I know has had a water meter installed. OK, so everyone I know is under 25 so doesn't have to wash nappies/kids clothes and run several baths a day, but if you are splitting a house into 3 flats it is reasonable to assume you are going for the singles market (unless this house is actually a mansion!). So, you should make provision for that.