Converting flat roof to pitched - timber span

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi I am in the process of converting my porch flat roof into a mono pitched roof using plain concrete tiles. The existing roof is 1.8m deep and 3.8m wide.

My concern is that the front 6x2" beam where all the weight will now be is only supported each end by brickwork, as the front of the porch is set back around 500mm (to provide shelter from the rain).

I was thinking of doubling up the 6x2" beam with another laid horizontally over the top of the existing one and bringing the rafters down past it using a birds mouth cut. Would this be ok or do i need to do something else?

I am planning to make the 6x2" rafters 600mm centres.

Being a novice I just want to make sure it is safe and doesn't sag when the tiles are put on!

Thanks

Sponsored Links
If I understand right you want to use 2 no 2x6" spanning 3.8m? then I would say its not strong enough and will sag after a while.

If you really want to use timber you could make a flitch beam by sandwiching a piece of flat steel 12mm x150mm between your 6"x2" and bolt them together say every 16" with 12mm bolts.

Sponsored Links
The flitch beam looks interesting but fairly expensive.

Would a 75mm x 200m or similar beam be OK to use?

Also does it change anything it I make the rafters 400mm centres instead of 600?

Cheers

To my rough calculations you will be loading 5 to 6 hundred kgs on that beam if using concrete tiles, and my instinct says over time it will sag.

OK that doesn't seem like a great option then.

If I was to do it properly and used an RSJ what size would it need to be?

Thanks

Use a 7" or 8" x 3" timber purlin.

Is this roof open/vaulted?

If not you can supplement the roof support by fixing 18mm ply gussets onto say every other rafter/joist, forming a rigid triangle that must butt tight against the upright wall and pole plate.