Correct size Cable and MCB for workshop

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello Guys,
im new to form, so apolergise now for jumping straight into posting a topic. I have found lots of info on domestic wiring, but hoping someone can help with my commercial workshop.

I have 10 double sockets running on 4.0mm T+E in a radial circuit.
They go into a 32A MCB.

Sockets often used for running Angle Grinders, Welders, and Compressor which are high wattage.

Every now and then when running a few tools the main 100A MCB will trip, but the 32A MCB never goes out. Is the right MCB being used, or does the circuit need upgrading to cope with the power im using?

Thanks in advance.

Sponsored Links
Just to add..

The workshop is 1300 sqft which i belive is about 120m2. Been informed this makes a difference on load with cable runs etc?

That 100A thingy.

Are you sure that it is an MCB?

Perhaps its an RCD. Here's how to tell:

Or post a piccy on here.

If its an RCD then you are looking at earth leakage problems, not over-current.

PS, if you want to add something to a post, try the EDIT key, it's fun!

Hello,
thanks for the reply.

Yes you are correct its a 100A RCD.

Sorry completely forgot there is a edit button, been years since i was active on a forum.

Thanks.

Sponsored Links
OK

So the 32A MCB is big enough for the job as it is not tripping.

Your problem is that one (or more than one) of the tools (or extension leads, or 110V transformers?) you are using has an earth leakage fault and this is tripping the RCD. This will trip if there is an earth leakage of (usually) 30milliamperes. (Your RCD will say something like 30mA or 0.03amp)

You would be advised to have the tools "PAT" tested or try and keep a note of which tool is being used when the RCD trips. You'll soon spot a pattern.

Thanks for the replies.

I traced back the earth wire from the CU and found it is just hanging down against the back wall of the workshop. Would this be causing the fault?