crabtree circuit breakers

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by mikegray, 7 Jun 2005.

  1. mikegray

    Joined:
    17 May 2005
    Messages:
    26
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi
    i have an old Crabtree Consumer unit fitted with type 1 circuit breakers
    i need to fit a 40A or 45A breaker to it.

    Can you still get type 1 breakers or equivalent from anywhere
    in the 40/45A size or do any other breaker fit this CU

    what would happen if i put two 32A in parrallel ??

    this is only a temp fik until i have the completet thing replaced and relocated
     
  2. mapj1

    Joined:
    24 Nov 2004
    Messages:
    1,041
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You should never paralell breakers - unless balancing resitors are used, which they cant be in this case, they are most unlikely to share the load equally, and will end up both tripping in rapid succesion..
    Try looking here http://www.thefusecompany.co.uk/
    If what you need is not on the site, then calling them can be a good starting point for looking for obscure compatible components. Not the cheapest, but good stocks
     
  3. Lectrician

    Joined:
    18 Jul 2004
    Messages:
    7,771
    Thanks Received:
    309
    Location:
    Devon
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Its like decorating a house with a leaking roof.....

    What are you installing that requires that load??

    Possibly (seriously) a cheap single way CU (ebay?) henleyed from the tails would be cheaper than sourcing the MCB!

    Can you take a photo of the CU and an MCB?? I have a collection of breakers - possibly the one you need ;)
     
  4. pdcelec

    Joined:
    5 Jun 2005
    Messages:
    707
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Why not fit a 1 or 2 way enclosure next to the existing consumer unit then use any of the new type mcb's
     
  5. Lectrician

    Joined:
    18 Jul 2004
    Messages:
    7,771
    Thanks Received:
    309
    Location:
    Devon
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    DP Main sw?? RCD possibly??
     
  6. andy

    Joined:
    14 Sep 2004
    Messages:
    3,971
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    then you have 64A. which is prob way OTT. aswell as other factors make it more dangerous
     
  7. plugwash

    Joined:
    28 Mar 2004
    Messages:
    8,792
    Thanks Received:
    261
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    one possibility which should be safe enough and reasonablly practical would be to put 2 32A breakers in paralell as you suggest but then to actually protect the cable use a breaker of appropriate rating but a different brand in a seperate box near the CU.
     
  8. Jaymack

    Joined:
    28 May 2005
    Messages:
    305
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Moray
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Individual breakers must never be installed in parallel for whatever reason, think of the isolation dangers.
     
  9. plugwash

    Joined:
    28 Mar 2004
    Messages:
    8,792
    Thanks Received:
    261
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    its not something i'd do on a permanent basis no but as a temporary measure (with everyone who is working on the system knowing about it) and with appropriate protection downstream i can't see a huge issue.
     
  10. Jaymack

    Joined:
    28 May 2005
    Messages:
    305
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Moray
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Still against the regs. "I thought it would be all right m'lord for a short period"
     
  11. plugwash

    Joined:
    28 Mar 2004
    Messages:
    8,792
    Thanks Received:
    261
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    so is leaving live wires sticking out of a switch/socket box covered with just insulation tape but i see sparkys do that all the time.
     
  12. g-tec

    Joined:
    7 Jun 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    if its the old crabtree C50 range they are large brown mcbs you can still get them from bemco electrical or city electrical factors
     
  13. Big_Spark

    Joined:
    20 Feb 2004
    Messages:
    3,434
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    Plug, I would suggest you think about that statement VERY carefully, actually think about the circuit you are suggesting and whether it would work as desired, and then think about the hazards you are introducing.

    It is this type of slap dash, cowboy ****** that has resulted in Part P.
     
  14. mikegray

    Joined:
    17 May 2005
    Messages:
    26
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hi

    thanks for the replys

    i believe the CU is a SB6000

    they are white/grey and say type 1 on them

    they have a normal screw connection on the top

    the supply is bussed along the bottom by a copper strip
    that a screw goes through onto the breaker
     
  15. Lectrician

    Joined:
    18 Jul 2004
    Messages:
    7,771
    Thanks Received:
    309
    Location:
    Devon
    Country:
    United Kingdom

Share This Page