Creda Superslim Combi night storage heater

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by treeman1, 2 Nov 2010.

  1. treeman1

    Joined:
    2 Nov 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I had these installed in my flat about eight years ago. Every year they charge later and later. They start now at 4am and continue until about 9.30am. This means I am not using the off peak electricity properly.
    How do you change the timing?
    Many thanks
    Treeman1
     
  2. OwainDIYer

    Joined:
    5 May 2010
    Messages:
    3,473
    Thanks Received:
    510
    Location:
    Stirlingshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Photo of your timeswitch please.
     
  3. treeman1

    Joined:
    2 Nov 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for reply. I know absolutely zero about these heaters. how do I gain access to the timers?

    Cheers
     
  4. OwainDIYer

    Joined:
    5 May 2010
    Messages:
    3,473
    Thanks Received:
    510
    Location:
    Stirlingshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You should have a timeswitch or teleswitch next to your electricity meter and consumer units / fuseboxes.
     
  5. treeman1

    Joined:
    2 Nov 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    HERE IS A PHOTO OF ALL i HAVE BY THE CONSUMER UNIT.
     
  6. timtheenchanter

    Joined:
    4 Jan 2006
    Messages:
    949
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Leeds
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  7. timtheenchanter

    Joined:
    4 Jan 2006
    Messages:
    949
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Leeds
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    [​IMG]
    here....

    check the time on the switch against the actual time, if its out, get your supplier to check/change it.

    seems it should be on between 00.30 and 07.30
     
  8. treeman1

    Joined:
    2 Nov 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    THE TIME ON THE CONSUMER DIAL WHICH GOES ROUND SLOWLY DOES NOT CORRESPOND WITH THE ACTUAL TIME. THAT WAS A BRILLIANT IDEA OF YOURS. THANKS THANKS.

    NOW, HERE'S THE NEXT PROBLEM. THE DIAL IS PROPERTY OF YEB BUT MY SUPPLIER IS DIFFERENT. WHO DO I GO TO TO CHANGE THE TIME?

    THANK YOU AGAIN
     
  9. Steve

    Joined:
    15 Apr 2005
    Messages:
    16,009
    Thanks Received:
    226
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    YEB no longer exist, and havent existed for at least 15 years. This gives some idea of the last time it was looked at (if the sticked is intact!)

    Contact the people who send your bill.
     
  10. treeman1

    Joined:
    2 Nov 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    THANKS STEVE
    I USE SCOTTISH POWER ON LINE. NO PRIZES FOR WHAT I'M GUESSING ... . IN THE EVENT OF THEM REFUSING TO FIX IT CAN I GET AN ELECTRICIAN TO DO IT?
     
  11. Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    13,803
    Thanks Received:
    1,237
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    An electrician cannot do it. The clock is sealed and it is a capital offence to break the seals.
    Scottish Power take your money, they should fix it. Try the phone first, if no resolution then write a formal letter. I have heard that a letter gets better priority.

    PS. Please turn off the Caps lock on your keyboard. Typing in capitals is considered as SHOUTING, and is rude according to Internet etiquette.

    Hmm Internet etiquette. Apparently it exists and is called Netiquette. Read all about it here http://www.livinginternet.com/i/ia_nq.htm
     
  12. treeman1

    Joined:
    2 Nov 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I had no idea about the shouting by using capitals. It's just that I find it easier to read being an aged old thing. So, sorry for any annoyance caused.

    I phoned Scottish Power and they have organized a repair in the near future. To my amazement they aren't going to charge.

    Once again a big thank you for all your help.

    Tim
     
  13. ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    52,074
    Thanks Received:
    2,033
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Use your browser magnification setting.

    Example - default 100% at the top, 400% at the bottom:

    [​IMG]


    Not charge you?

    Sounds like they should actually be refunding you....
     

Share This Page