Curious about potential reasons for drop in shower pressure.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello,

My first post here and I think it worth pointing out that I am a layman in these terms - just a normal home owner. I'd be very interested if anyone had any advice to offer.

I have had an Aqualisa Axis Digital shower for a year or so now, it is fed by my combi boiler and no pump is involved. The Aqualisa Axis range has this remote processor (basically a mixer of hot and cold I believe) that is situated some way from the shower head.

When I first got the shower it nearly knocked me over - it was that good. And I was most impressed and pleased, considering it cost me around £700 and even more for getting it fitted by an Aqualisa approved installer - good guys these were though.

I have experienced a number of separate incidents where the pressure has dropped off - sometimes to where the water is just falling out - as opposed to being shot out at me.

The first time, I got in touch with Aqualisa technical services and they advised me to check there wasn't air in the hose etc., and eventually they sent out an engineer who swapped over the shower head and, miraculously the power came back (almost as good as when it was installed I thought).

The second time I noticed a major drop in pressure Aqualisa advised my combi boiler got checked. I had to pay £100 to get someone to come out and tell me that my boiler was fine. And, eventually, Aqualisa sent out another engineer, who replaced the hose and the shower head and power seemed to come back again - maybe not as good as just after installation, but better. I wasn't happy with spending £100 to find this out, so Aqualisa and I agreed to extend my warranty to 2012 - not a bad compromise.