Cutting a new bath panel to fit around boxing...

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Any advice on cutting a bath panel: the tap end / curved end of a P bath has the pipes all tidily boxed but now I have the job of cutting the bath panel so that it fits snuggly around the box...any advice greatly appreciated! :confused:

Sponsored Links
Measure once, cut twice, you can't go wrong.

Did I really say that? :eek:

I have cut a few in my time and use a my jigsaw, slow speed with a very fine metal cutting blade. But you do need good support around the area of the cut.

Sponsored Links
Thought I'd put my bit in as hopefully it can help. I'm not a pro or advanced DIYer so hopefully this will help those who think they have possibly a thicker/ more durable panel. The panel was from Bathstore and I needed to cut both at the top and ends. It seemed to be made from fibre glass/ pressed plastic and was about 3mm thick.

I tried aviation snips but these seemed to have a shattering effect so left them!
I then tried a very small fine hacksaw which created a clean line but was sooo slow I couldnt persist.
I looked at the stanley knife route but it looked very dangerous with no control over accuracy.
I then used a large hacksaw with very fine teeth. This did a good job but I had access issues to a point when having to do longer lengths.
My final and proven method was with the jigsaw using a fine toothed blade. I measured up and stencilled the lines needed over Gafer tape so there was some sort of hold. The other advantage is that the tape prevents the jigsaw from marking the panel.

If youre confident your panel is fairly durable, my advice would be to use the tape and jigsaw. Hope this helps

Read more: //www.diynot.com/forums/viewtopic.php?p=2151887#2151887#ixzz1b8QEDsu3

This is odd - replying to a post thats over a year old, and quoting a link to a thread from 2007. What, dare one ask, is the motivation?