Dented, scraped and paintless

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hey guys!

So I had a run in with a concrete wall.... and now I have a lovely big dent in the side of my car, slightly warped metal and no paint. I can't really afford the £400 I have been quoted to fix it.. And I would really like to give it a go myself, but I have never done anything like it before.. So can you help me out and give me some advice on what to use/how etc. I'd really appreciate it! View media item 83578 View media item 83579

Sponsored Links
I think you're going to struggle to make a decent job of that, looking at the way the panel has creased (bulged) at the bottom. Problem with most panels is that the metal stretches when dented so not often it can just be pulled back into shape.

What tools do you have access to? Access from the inside is going to be very limited so a dent puller might help to straighten it a little, then you will probably have to resort to hammering out the bulge, removing the paint and filling, followed by primer and top coats of paint from spray cans. The gouge on the door will need cutting back to bare metal, filling, priming and painting. The wheel arch (probably plastic) will need filling and painting too. To be blunt about it, unless you are well practised, it will always look naff compared with a professional job.

That's a nasty dent in the three quarter panel and I think it needs a bodyshop to do that one......the only thing you can do to help things is to remove all of the interior trim to help access.
The door is less of a problem, some filler and paint would suffice.
Your quote is pretty good really, for the repair and paint......is that a Ka?
John :)