does each coat of emulsion paint re-activate the coat underneath?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'm painting my walls with contractor while emulsion. I notice that when painting over several previous coats the new paint seems to turn the dry paint underneath wet again?! So if I keep brushing in the same spot I'll eventually get back to the wall. This I find creates patchiness in areas. When I bash a wet area with the brush it scrapes off most of the layers underneath it as it they have been softened. Can anyone shed more light on this as I'm very new to painting with emulsion. Cheers.

Sponsored Links
Contract paint has no vinyl in it - it's only used for "mist coat" on new plaster and on ceilings because it will do just what you're experiencing. You need a good quality Vinyl Matt and go over what you've done.

Ah ok thanks for the info. I initially bought it for the ceiling, though the walls had plastered areas and patches that were dark, so walls where very patchy. I used the contractor emulsion to give a white base to even everything out. I will then use a layer of grey clay paint over the top. Do you think the contractor emulsion underneath will hold up ok as a base as long as there is the layer of clay paint on top? Will I have the same issues painting over it with the grey clay paint (it melting!)? next time should I use a vinyl emulsion for the base? cheers

There should be no reason why you can't paint multiple layers of contract matt provided each coat has dried sufficiently and you don't over work it.
You can't use vinyls and silks as a mist coat. Are you painting on fresh plaster or maybe silk.
If fresh plaster then you should have first applied a mist coat(watered down paint) which will soak into the plaster and seal it, especially if the walls have been heavily troweled. If silk or even to a degree vinyl then you probably want to give it a sand to give a key for the matt emulsion

Sponsored Links