Don't know house alarm code.....help !

Discussion in 'Alarms, CCTV & Telephones' started by wiffers2003, 20 Oct 2007.

  1. wiffers2003

    Joined:
    28 Sep 2007
    Messages:
    69
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi all, I've recently moved house and found that i don't have the code for the house alarm and neither does the previous owner (he never used it!).
    Is there any way that you know of where i can overide it and reset it somehow.
    The alarm is a "C&K Securitech Active 5" unit.
    Many thanks Carl
     
  2. plugwash

    Joined:
    28 Mar 2004
    Messages:
    8,800
    Thanks Received:
    263
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    iirc it is usully possible to completely reset an alarm to factory settings, the trouble is you will need the engineers manual and some alarm experiance to reprogram it after doing so.
     
  3. wiffers2003

    Joined:
    28 Sep 2007
    Messages:
    69
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for your reply plugwash. I do have the engineers manual and it does say about resetting it, the only thing is that it then says that i would have to call the manufacturer to complete the reset and i don't want to have to pay them to come along and push a button. Is this the normal way to do things and what would be a common charge (if any!) to complete the reset.
    I am worried because at the moment the alarm sounds if the power is switched off and i wouldn't be able to disable it in the event of a power cut.
    thanks.
     
  4. breezer

    Joined:
    3 Jan 2003
    Messages:
    23,326
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Sussex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    that does not sound right, about calling the maker.

    try lookinhg in the manual for defaulting or lost codes

    or post what it exactly says
     
  5. wiffers2003

    Joined:
    28 Sep 2007
    Messages:
    69
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ah Ha, Just found another bit in the manual about placing a small jumper link onto another position on the main pcb and removing the batteries and the power. This seems more reasonable and no need to contact the manufacturer.
    Only one problem though, will the alarm sound if i remove the cover because of "tamper" operation?
    I had better wait until the wife has gone out to do it (and the neighbours) just in case !!!!
     
  6. plugwash

    Joined:
    28 Mar 2004
    Messages:
    8,800
    Thanks Received:
    263
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yes unfortunately there is a good chance of setting off the alarm by opening the cover.

    also if you remove both battery and mains you will most likely make the external sounder go off on it's own battery.
     
  7. wiffers2003

    Joined:
    28 Sep 2007
    Messages:
    69
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hmmm, maybe i'll warn the neighbour first then.

    Thanks.
     
  8. Space cat

    Joined:
    9 Sep 2007
    Messages:
    3,862
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Location:
    Newcastle upon Tyne
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It shouldn't do this. Your backup battery is flat. :( :( :(

    That jumper will be to clear the memory.

    Most alarms have a tamper switch on the box that sets an alarm off when you open it. If the alarm isn't armed at the time this will probably be no more than a small internal beeper. It sounds like you've got a self activating bell. This is what goes off when you switch the power off. As soon as you get the code back to its default setting (1234?) you can restore power and reset the alarm. This will silence the SAB.
     
  9. securespark

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2004
    Messages:
    25,801
    Thanks Received:
    485
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Intergalactic Feline, am I missing something big here??

    How do you know he has a SAB or that the BUB is flat??
     
  10. Space cat

    Joined:
    9 Sep 2007
    Messages:
    3,862
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Location:
    Newcastle upon Tyne
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The honest answer is that I don't. I was in a hurry so I made an intelligent guess, which might turn out to be wrong. I made the reasonable assumption that an alarm with a backup battery shouldn't go off during a power cut. It should continue to work as if nothing was wrong for as long as the battery holds up.

    Since this alarm does go off when mains power is removed it follows that the backup battery is flat (or missing). With no mains power and no backup battery either, the only thing left to make a noise would be an SAB.
     
  11. wiffers2003

    Joined:
    28 Sep 2007
    Messages:
    69
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You're absolutely right Space Cat. I do have a SAB and my back-up battery only measured 6V when it should have been 12V.
    I have now managed to reset to the factory default code and then change it to my own choice, i apologised to the neghbours afterwards as the SAB did indeed sound for a while when i had the main box open to reset the code.

    Thanks for your help.
    Carl
     
  12. Space cat

    Joined:
    9 Sep 2007
    Messages:
    3,862
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Location:
    Newcastle upon Tyne
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You're welcome. Since you have a manual for your alarm, might I suggest that you 'pay it forward'. Check the sticky "Alarm manuals" thread and, if yours isn't there already, put yourself down as a useful source of information. :) :) :)
     
  13. wiffers2003

    Joined:
    28 Sep 2007
    Messages:
    69
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Of course, all information is useful especially if its free !
    Not sure how to do it yet, but i'll sort it out soon.
     
  14. securespark

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2004
    Messages:
    25,801
    Thanks Received:
    485
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    :cry:

    [Slinks off with tail between legs...]
     

Share This Page