Dulux Trade Vinyl Matt...3 coats and counting

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Morning everyone

I'm having a bit of 'fun' with the above paint in our front room. The room was previously a pale blue (contract matt??) and we are repainting in Dulux trade vinyl matt (orchid white).

I'm no pro but I'd say I'm not bad at decorating - I don't think I'm being stingy with the paint and I don't think I'm over-rolling it but I've now done 3 coats with a hamilton perfection roller and the paint is still looking patchy in places.

From previous experience with Dulux vinyl matt I'd normally expect to do 2 coats - probably 3 in this case due to the colour change...I nearly did a coat of supermatt (in a similar colour) to begin with and I'm wishing I had done that now!

Any recommendations, as I'm a bit stumped, last time I had this kind of issue was before I discovered trade paint? I'm going to have to do another coat tonight - annoying as I'm going to have to get another 5l of paint so I may as well do another complete coat (I have about 2l of the same colour in Diamond Matt but I wouldn't want to try and blend that in with the vinyl matt unless I use it all up to do a complete coat). While I'm at it I was going to ditch the Hamilton sleeve and replace with a Pro-Dooz.

Sponsored Links
Did the ceiling get a wash (or would a wash have been required)?

For a colour change (it was magnolia / 15 years old) to white it will take 3 full coats.

Hindsight is a wonderful thing, but I'd have mostly obliterated your blue with 2 coats of a trade white matt and then gone with 2 coats of the finish colour. It works out cheaper, since an colour matt tends to be +50% to a straight white.

If you think the patching is a contamination issue such as oil in air from kitchen, from smoking or from a solid fuel fire I'd invest in a few cans of cover stain spray and cover the patches and then go with another two coats.

Just thought I'd post an update...