1. We are pleased to announce the 'Home Automation' forum. Click here to get involved!

Earth bonding to gas and water

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by Carloss, 12 May 2011.

  1. Carloss

    Joined:
    31 Mar 2004
    Messages:
    168
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hello,

    Would be grateful for people opinions on this situation I am in....

    The Client has requested a 17th edition consumer unit upgrade due to a child receiving an electric In the house. I visited the house to get an idea of what's going on etc.. the gas and water main have a 6mm earth tagged onto them. However, the client has limited funds and can only afford a fuseboard change including testing. Will take an extra day to upgrade the bonding to 10mm as laminate flooring/concrete floors are everywhere! With the supply characteristics that's present, would I be able to leave it at 6mm. Tncs system, main fuse 60a 1361. Or could I put it as a limitation on the certificate? Upgrade of equipotential bonding to water main and gas main in 10mm could not be carried out at present???

    Carl
     
  2. holmslaw

    Joined:
    12 Dec 2006
    Messages:
    5,841
    Thanks Received:
    400
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  3. Carloss

    Joined:
    31 Mar 2004
    Messages:
    168
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks, sorry for sloppy posting, using my phone to write this!

    Would it be acceptable if I carried out a continuity check on the bonding if I get readings below 0.05ohms would be acceptable? taking into consideration the type of earthing system and fuse size?

    Thanks,
    Carl
     
  4. holmslaw

    Joined:
    12 Dec 2006
    Messages:
    5,841
    Thanks Received:
    400
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  5. matt1e

    Joined:
    13 Dec 2008
    Messages:
    2,227
    Thanks Received:
    231
    Location:
    Tyne and Wear
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    They may be ok if the system is TT
     
  6. londonboy

    Joined:
    22 Feb 2009
    Messages:
    1,582
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The installation is TNCS.

    I beleive you can verify 6mm by using adabatic equation.
     
  7. holmslaw

    Joined:
    12 Dec 2006
    Messages:
    5,841
    Thanks Received:
    400
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  8. matt1e

    Joined:
    13 Dec 2008
    Messages:
    2,227
    Thanks Received:
    231
    Location:
    Tyne and Wear
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    :oops:

    allright I'll go and clean me specs :LOL:
     
  9. holmslaw

    Joined:
    12 Dec 2006
    Messages:
    5,841
    Thanks Received:
    400
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  10. ebee

    Joined:
    14 Aug 2005
    Messages:
    1,702
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    TNC-S (PME) requires 10mm min (even then your supplier might require more)
     

Share This Page