electric shower power woes

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi there,

Our electric shower packed in, or at least I thought it had, so I replaced it. It worked at first,then the same problem occurred - turn on shower and isolator led turns off. OK, it was a pants shower anyhow, never mind.

I changed the isolator, which to be honest looks OK. No burnt connectors or plastic, but I cut the wiring back anyhow. Worked OK, then same problem. The protector by the main fuse box doesn't trip.

I can't imagine the main run of wiring suddenly developing a fault, but I'm not an electrician. I figure it can only be the run to the isolator, the RCD for the feed, or the main consumer box - but to be honest anything further than I've already done would be outside my competence, and undoubtedly need to be certified.

Before call someone qualified, could I be missing anything obvious? Any guesses as to possible culprits?

Sponsored Links
It sounds like you've dealt with possible bad connections at the shower end of the cable, but not the other end.

The feed from the consumer unit and the protector, I don't think someone like me should be touching that. That's about all I can think of though.

You are right not to touch something that you are not confident to touch. It is probably either a connection which is loose, or a faulty device. I assumed that you knew how to isolate before playing with a circuit to have done the tests/changes you have done. This is why I was suggesting you might look at the corresponding connections at the other end of the cable.

But you are right to call in an electrician at the point you are less than happy.

Sponsored Links
Hi there, thanks for your reply.

Well with the isolator I was able to turn off the power using the protector by the consumer unit, but I don't know how to cut the power to the protector from the consumer unit. I assume I have to somehow cut the power to the whole house, which I've never done.