Electric shower - producing only cold water

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Electric shower has worked without any issues for the last 2 years, including yesterday.

This morning I got up and it's now producing only cold water.

There is a power light above the dials. Usually, when you turn the water on, after about 5 seconds, the light flicks on, and cold water starts coming out.

This morning, the light never came on, meaning it was producing only cold water.

I am a COMPLETE novice with plumbing, electrics, any DIY. I may just call a plumber now, but is there anything you can suggest that I should try first?

I really can't afford a big bill and this has come at the worst time

MY SHOWER:

IMG_1250.png

Thanks

Sponsored Links
Have you checked the fuse or circuit breaker at your consumer unit/fuse box? It should be a separate circuit for an electric shower.

Have you checked the fuse or circuit breaker at your consumer unit/fuse box? It should be a separate circuit for an electric shower.

Hi Tipper,

Yes, all the switches are "ON", so I don't think any have tripped.

Thanks

If it's older than 10 years I would normally advise a replacement as some shower parts of more expensive than a new shower.

Look at Triton website for a manual for your model and look up a trouble shooting section. It could be that the thermal cut out has operated or that the heating element is goosed.

Sponsored Links
If it's older than 10 years I would normally advise a replacement as some shower parts of more expensive than a new shower.

Look at Triton website for a manual for your model and look up a trouble shooting section. It could be that the thermal cut out has operated or that the heating element is goosed.

I think it is pretty old.

I looked up a new Triton Amber shower and it's about £60.

How easy is it for a novice like me to swap them over? Or would you recommend just getting a plumber out?