Electrical Safety Certs and other questions.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,
I'm a student in some pretty poor housing and I was hoping to get some advice.

Firstly, is it a legal requirement for a landlord to provide an electrical safety certificate? And if it is and the flat is deemed unsafe, what happens next?

Secondly, anyone know how old/unsafe a fuse box is if the fuses are wired not trip switches?

Thirdly the charming (!) previous tenants ripped down the pullcord switch in the bathroom before they left. Not a big deal I imagined. There are two live wires and one that I assume is an earth or neutral. As all the minor electrics I have done have been in houses that have been wired after flares were in, this has confused me a little. Anyone know how you wire these up?

(I know the sensible options here are a) ask my landlord (he's already refused) or b) get a sparky in (I'm post grad, I just about have the cash to keep the electric on) so I am grateful for any advice you guys can give)

Thanks in advance.

Sponsored Links
There is no legal requirement, but are guidelines for landlords such as change of occupancy.

Thou if the landlord did not obtain suitable electrical installation reports, nor keep the wiring up to current regs, they may be open to procecution should someone be hurt, injured or killed due to poor installation.

Thanks for the quick reply.

So in short unless I zap myself with the old wiring then there is nothing that can be done about it?

Unfortunately not really. I think it should be a legal requirement as it is for gas, but for some reason it isn't.

With regards to the pull switch, get on to your landlord and make him get an electrician out to repair it. That's what you pay your rent for.

Sponsored Links