Estimate to install new consumer unit + wire in shower?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, apologise in advance....... if I have posted this in the wrong place, I’m a newbie!

I would like a rough/estimate idea on how much it will cost to get the following works completed via a qualified electrician:

- Fit new consumer unit / remove old one (fit in same place)
- Wire in new 9.5kw shower

I would like to use the existing wiring (believe its only around 10 years old and appears in sound condition) and I have already done any necessary cable runs (shower).

Will I be covered by building regs with just a receipt or do I need to request any kind of certification on completion of works?

Thanks

Sponsored Links
Thanks for the prompt response Holmslaw.

Forgot to mention that it’s only a three bed semi and I'm based in the East Midlands so hoping the price you quoted is for a Mansion in London, as I almost spat my tea out!

Thanks again :D

Sponsored Links
Showers can range in price from about £80-90 cheapos to £'think of a number' super flashy programmable jobbie - quite possibly a few hundred.

Check here for a few examples
http://www.showermania.co.uk/products.asp?cat=12

We can't tell whether the cable that is currently installed is ok to use for the shower you have in mind (it may well be, but without further info, its guesswork) Somebody (electrician) will have to spent their time verifying this.

How many fuses are contained in the box which is fitted at the moment?
Replacement CUs can cost as little as £50 for some low quality tat (which I won't install), but could easily cost over £100 just for the box and internal bits.

So in materials alone, you could be looking at between £130 to £500, thats before anyone has got a tool or tester out of the van. Then chuck in a day or twos work on top, the price soon goes up.