1. We are pleased to announce the 'Home Automation' forum. Click here to get involved!

European to UK plug rewiring?

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by LondonLiverpoolFan, 28 Feb 2007.

This topic originated from the How to page called Wiring a plug.

  1. LondonLiverpoolFan

    Joined:
    28 Feb 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    My missus' GHD straighteners do not power on when she plugs them in. By pushing the flex towards the plug they do start working. I'll be damned if I'm going to stand there each morning and hold this while she does her hair! I took the uk plug apart to find that there is a molded European plug concealed beneath it. Before I go out and spend £120 on a new set of straighteners can anyone advise me on how easy it would be to cut the European plug off, strip back the wires and rewire it to a UK plug? Anything I should look out for? I've wired a uk plug before but that's about it!

    Thanks in advance :)
     
  2. MasterAbacus

    Joined:
    16 Jun 2005
    Messages:
    545
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Buy a Euro to UK plug adaptor..... or better still get her to buy one..... Think youll find em at most DIY sheds, or maybe even Argos....
     
  3. LondonLiverpoolFan

    Joined:
    28 Feb 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That won't work as it's the actual flex that is part of the european molded plug that is faulty. By pushing this back towards the plug the connection works. If I just plug it into an adaptor I'll still have the same issue.

    If I cut the plug off the cable and switch plugs to a uk one this should (?) hopefully fix it.
     
  4. jj4091

    Joined:
    1 Dec 2006
    Messages:
    3,331
    Thanks Received:
    225
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Not sure what you mean by a european plug under the uk one, but if the straightners run on 230-240Vac then you will be ok to fit a normal fused 3-pin plug, would think you will probably need a 3A fuse fitting instead of the usual 13A though.
     
  5. MasterAbacus

    Joined:
    16 Jun 2005
    Messages:
    545
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ah ok, well cut it off, and wire it up to a UK plug.... tell us what colour cable you have inside the flex first.....




    PS, were gonna stuff UTD on Saturday ;).....
     
  6. LondonLiverpoolFan

    Joined:
    28 Feb 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just found this post on another site. I have no idea if he's being honest or not? What do you lot think?

    Ta again

    P.S I feckin hope so!
     
  7. MasterAbacus

    Joined:
    16 Jun 2005
    Messages:
    545
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ok, wire up a new euro plug to it, then plug that into the adaptor....

    Both available online / DIY shed etc....




    p.s.... 3.0 sounds about right to me..... YNWA....
     
  8. sm1thson

    Joined:
    5 Sep 2005
    Messages:
    829
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hull
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    as for the other info you found, GHD's cables normally brake at the ghd end not the plug end (from users wrapping the cable tightly round them aswell as them getting tangled during use-worse on the first ones without a detangler) your lucky its at the plug end, try a new plug first!
     
  9. FredFlintstone

    Joined:
    19 Jan 2007
    Messages:
    543
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    And make sure she never, ever, leaves them unattended when plugged in - GHD's have a habit of bursting into flames.

    As for the fault, the most obvious points of failure from your description is a loose connection in the two pin plug of a dodgy connection between the two pin plug and the three pin adapter.
     
  10. LondonLiverpoolFan

    Joined:
    28 Feb 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The uk plug they came with has one screw that holds the European plug in place. They were bought fro Jason Shankey online (who are supposedly a big UK mail order haircare company)

    This is a (grainy) image of the plug that I've found on the net.

    [​IMG]

    The European plug, slots/plugs into the uk one from the bottom....

    This make any difference? I'm pretty sure the problem is where the flex joins the European plug (crudely highlighted!) rather than where the European plug joins the uk one.
     
  11. tim west

    Joined:
    27 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    11,900
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    just be aware when modifying any equipment that you take away any approval of manufacture it once had, If in the future the appliance is found to have been the cause of a fire and the modification is found you may find that your home insurance may not cover you. Generally it's best in the long run to only purchase equipment with the relevant approval stickers on them such as BSI or CEE approval for use in the UK.
     
  12. sm1thson

    Joined:
    5 Sep 2005
    Messages:
    829
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hull
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hmm, its important to be cautious, and definately dont chop the plug off anything in warranty because it will invalidate it, but i cant believe there has been an instance of an insurance company (in this country) not paying out because a faulty appliance had a DIY plug on it! plugs dont come under part p and changing them doesnt violate any regulations.

    if youve not changed a plug before ask a friend that has to do it. make sure a 3amp fuse is used, all connections are tight, the cordgrip is used properly and the length of the wires is such that the live would get pulled out first and the earth (where present) last, if the cordgrip were to fail.
     
  13. Steve

    Joined:
    15 Apr 2005
    Messages:
    16,005
    Thanks Received:
    226
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Most electrical kit says, in the last page of the instructions, something along the lines of "if the supplied plug is unsuitable for the sockets in your area, chop it off and remove any fuse and replace with a suitable plug". Followed by a wiring diagram.
     
  14. bernardgreen

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    12,188
    Thanks Received:
    1,024
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have seen a couple of hair straigheners where the cable has failed at the point of flexing.

    The cable was defective. The insulation on the wires should be free to move inside the outer sheath to make the cable flexible. There was white lubricant powder ( french chalk ?) but the solvent from the plastic had leached out and all but welded the insulation to the sheath making the cable far less flexible.

    Manufacturer replaced the items and changed the supplier of cable.
     
  15. plugwash

    Joined:
    28 Mar 2004
    Messages:
    8,807
    Thanks Received:
    264
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i'm assuming it was one of theese
    [​IMG]

    anyway as others have said you should be fine just cutting off the plug and fitting a normal british one.
     

Share This Page