Extension blockwork shell insulation

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have shown my structural plans for a rear extension to two builders and they both asked the exact same question. Which was "why has the engineer used a solid wall with insulation on the outside and not a cavity wall?"

Pic attached

Foundation_and_Walls.jpg

A third builder said this is fine and used in modern construction. Go figure now...

I am no expert in walls and insulation, the only standard wall structure I am familiar with is the cavity sandwich of 100mm block/100mm insulation/100mm wall.

For some reason, be it a lot of glazing or something else, my engineer decided to build the wall as in the drawing attached.

Are there any disadvantages to this external wall e.g how do I fix things on the outside and how sturdy is this formation?

Any thoughts, advice most welcome I approach him with the builder's question.

Sponsored Links
You dont appear to be having much luck with your "builders" and "designers" & "engineers"?

The drawing you posted is a scan from a well known google site.

The drawing is inaccurate.

Last edited:
You dont appear to be having much luck with your "builders" and "designers" & "engineers"?

The drawing you posted is a scan from a well known google site.

The drawing is inaccurate.

You only hear about the ones who haven't done a good job :p

Can you explain what you mean by inaccurate? i.e missing information?

I received this together with a structural plan and structural calculations (i.e timber beams specs, blockwork stress, general load bearing lintels etc). Most builders said they were happy to quote from this but the engineer said we need the building regs drawings for further detail.

Perhaps I should post this last bit under building regs forum.

Last edited:
Sponsored Links
Ask whoever drew the plans. My mind reading machine is in for service.

Fail to understand the unfriendly tone, is this question unreasonable?