1. We are pleased to announce the 'Home Automation' forum. Click here to get involved!

External PIR Light Problem

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by Trem, 25 Oct 2007.

This topic originated from the How to page called Adding a new light and switch.

  1. Trem

    Joined:
    25 Oct 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Staffordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi guys, first post so go easy.

    I have fitted an external halogen light with PIR , I have gone from the existing main wiring (not light wiring as it didn't have earth). I have used a 30A junction box and run from that (2.5mm twin core and earth) into a 3A FCU (none switched). All went well and there seemed to be no problems apart from......the light won't work. Have I made any glaring errors in what I have done? I have not checked the bulb as yet and I am hoping that is the problem but it is never that easy.
     
  2. luminaire

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2007
    Messages:
    704
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Check the bulb first and if still no joy get back to us.
     
  3. breezer

    Joined:
    3 Jan 2003
    Messages:
    23,326
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Sussex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thats a bright idea.

    (breezer gets coat)
     
  4. ricicle

    Joined:
    14 Sep 2006
    Messages:
    6,347
    Thanks Received:
    383
    Location:
    Gloucestershire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sometimes halogen lamps can be put in apparently correct but the ends just are off contact from the live/neutral nibs at one or both ends.Just double check this to be sure.
     
  5. Trem

    Joined:
    25 Oct 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Staffordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I was doing it at my mums and by the time the light wasn't working I just wanted to get out of there. She was watching me up the ladder screeching "BE CAREFUL LOVE!" and everytime I went inside to check the wiring the heating that she had set to 'Saudi Arabia' made me melt.

    I will mess with the bulb tomorrow and let you know guys.

    Cheers.
     
  6. breezer

    Joined:
    3 Jan 2003
    Messages:
    23,326
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Sussex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    its a lamp, not a bulb, and dont touch it with your fingers, use a small piece of paper folded in half, then poke it round the lamp then hold the paper
     
  7. Trem

    Joined:
    25 Oct 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Staffordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah, its a hard habit to get out of. My tutor often screamed "BULBS ARE PLANTED IN THE GARDEN!"

    I know about the not touching the lamp, used kitchen roll to hold it when I inserted it.
     
  8. Trem

    Joined:
    25 Oct 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Staffordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Checked everything outside, light is fine and so is the lamp, well they don't work still when I swap them with a new light so I can't see me having 2 duff lights and bulbs.

    The problem is at the fuse spur, I have power going in but it is blowing the fuse so obviously no power going out, I tested this with the light connected and disconnected and outside there is definitely no power.

    Any ideas what could be causing the fuse to instantly blow? Is this a case of rewiring the whole thing in case there is a break? I have rewired the junction box onto another source and used 20A one this time but it is exactly as it was before.

    Any help appreciated.
     
  9. Steve3948

    Joined:
    11 Oct 2007
    Messages:
    152
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    How have you connected your light ?????
    Most PIR Lights have connections that you do not connect to, they are for internal links between PIR and Light.
    Sounds like a Live to Neutral fault.
     
  10. breezer

    Joined:
    3 Jan 2003
    Messages:
    23,326
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Sussex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    you dont mean the fuse in the FCU do you? what size is it?
     
  11. luminaire

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2007
    Messages:
    704
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    How did you wire the FCU?
     
  12. Trem

    Joined:
    25 Oct 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Staffordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The light only has L, N and E and it has no dials to set the walk distance or daytime/night time activation. Just a PiR with a light with only 3 internal connections.

    I have gone from the source (socket ring) into a junction box, out of that into the FCU then out of the FCU through the wall outside then into the light. I have a 3A fuse in the FCU. I have checked everything twice and everything is wired as it should be, the only thing I haven't checked yet is the wire from the FCU that goes outside.

    I do get power going into the FCU but none going out/getting past the fuse as it blows as soon as power is turned on.

    There are no wires touching and everything is where it should be, apart from the one I haven't checked yet, but in my mind it seems to be a problem before the outside wire.
     
  13. Steve

    Joined:
    15 Apr 2005
    Messages:
    16,005
    Thanks Received:
    226
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you're not sure, post a picture of your wiring.
     
  14. festa

    Joined:
    6 Feb 2006
    Messages:
    212
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    O.k first thing first...
    What wattage is the lamp ?
    Second...
    Go buy yourself a multimeter and double check the length of cable for the section between FCU and luminair for continuity.
    Third...
    Try changing the FCU plate for a new one as sometimes cheap makes could be faulty and while your at it for future convienience pay a few extra pennies and buy a SWITCHED FCU as some security lights have a facilty to switch it on perminantly if you want to.
     
  15. DESL

    Joined:
    9 Oct 2006
    Messages:
    937
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Has this cable been damaged?

    Did you replace this cable?

    Is it run in conduit or straight through the wall?

    If not could this be the reason the old light failed.
     

Share This Page