Ferroli domina 80 - tech help needed

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by paulsx, 30 Sep 2009.

  1. paulsx

    Joined:
    30 Sep 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi. I ahve a ferroli domina 80 combi that wont fire up in either CH or HW mode. The demand lights come on but the boiler refuses to fire. I have checked the manual and followed the diagnostics in it.

    There is 230volts being passed from the main pcb to the igintion pcb. The low water pressure switch is working ok. The aip pressure switch also seems to be switching if you apply a positive pressure to it. The overheat stat is also showing continuity.

    I cant get into the fan easily to check that there is 230v present but i have checked it at the pcb end and there isnt anything.

    Am i missing soemthing or has the ignition pcb died?

    I know i should have a corgi guy in but the last one was useless. I will get the boiler gas saftey checked etc once i know it can be repaired as the parts look very expensive.

    Thanks for any advice

    Paul
     
  2. Agile

    Joined:
    26 Jun 2004
    Messages:
    55,402
    Thanks Received:
    3,639
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If there is no power at the PCB then I dont really think there is likely to be any at the fan !

    Thats just as well you could not access the fan because you should not be opening the combustion chamber or fiddling with the air pressure switch.

    It might be the PCB but further preliminary checks would be in areas which I cannot advise you about on account of safety issues.

    Its going to be OK but you could check the resistance of the fan coil at the PCB end. They are usually about 48 ohms.

    Unless anyone else has any suggestion of yuo you can safely do the advice is to get a competent gas registered engineer who repair boilers rather than just installing them.

    Tony
     
  3. paulsx

    Joined:
    30 Sep 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I know the fan is ok i have tested it separately. I meant i couldnt access the wiring in situ to check the supply but took it off to check the fan itself.

    I understand the bit about getting someone to look at it but I am not a complete novice and to be honest dont want to pay the £300 that ferroli want to send someone out to look at it. If the boilers not worth reapairing i would rather find out now.

    I have had 2 corgi registered guys look at it and they were both usless. It seems unless you have dealt with one of these before they can cause problems

    The ferroli diagnostics sheet states if there is no voltage at the fan check the air switch. However the swtich wont operate if the fan isnt running so it can be that causing it. It's dead at the pcb end and I was hoping to confirm this before i take the board out and fault finding it as it's a ball ache
     
  4. Agile

    Joined:
    26 Jun 2004
    Messages:
    55,402
    Thanks Received:
    3,639
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The APS does have to make a contact in the resting position!

    However its probably the PCB but I would have checked everything else properly first as they are expensive.

    Just being gas registered does not mean that anyone is able to diagnose faults on boiler.

    British Gas probably do a fixed price repair for about £160.

    An independent should not not be charging much more than we do! Most of our repairs are little more than £100 including parts.

    Tony
     
  5. paulsx

    Joined:
    30 Sep 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ok the APS is open circuit with the boiler at rest but demand on.

    I'll try temporarly bypassing it and see if that cures the problem.

    The 2 guys i used both clamed to be familular with these boilers etc but the first one blew the main fuse on the board and the 2ndd one wanted to randomly change bits until he found it.

    Thanks for your advice
     

Share This Page