Fitting new upvc double glazing onto old wooden sash frames

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,
I'd really appreciate some advice as searching around I can't seem to find a clear answer.

I'm having my old Victorian sash windows replaced with new upvc double glazed windows shortly through a local green scheme.

What worries me slightly is that the company has said they intend to take out the sashes and fix the new windows into the old wooden frames. They have said that they would replace any rotten wood, but this still sounds like a bit of a bodge job to me.
They've also said that they'll keep the shash boxes where they are, which again I'm not sure if this is ok as I've read in some places that this can result in condensation building up on the boxes and the wood rotting.

I've spoken to the company about my concerns and they said that what they are going to do is standard practice, and as I'm not an expert they might be right, but it's not sitting comfortably with me and I don't have any experience or knowledge to get into a debate with them about it.
Doing some googling, some places say it's fine, others say it's 'cowboy building techniques'.

If anybody could shed their expert opinion light on it I'd really appreciate it.

Sponsored Links
It can be done that way but in my opinion it's not the 'done' thing, clearly the installer wants to be in and out with minimum fuss and extra work, personally I would ask them to remove all the boxing and stud it out and plaster board it. Imagine paying all that money for nice efficient PVC windows only for you to carry on losing heat through the hollow box, nah not for me!

Tell them you want it all ripping out and plastered whether it's the right way or the wrong way is irrelevant, your paying and this is how you want it doing!

We normally remove the whole window, why leave the box, its reducing the size of the new window too..........

Sponsored Links