Fixing a loose curtain pole

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello,

First time poster just wondering if someone can give me a little advice on fixing a loose curtain pole in my house.

I'm a total DIY novice, so even though I know this is a simple job I'm just worried about totally botching it. But I feel I should be able to tackle a job like this around the home and not have to pay someone £30 to do it for me

It's a metal curtain pole that rests on two hooks which are screwed into the wall of a bedroom. The walls are brick with plaster (some walls in the house are lath and plaster and not plasterboard I've been told, if this makes a difference to anything that may follow) and the hooks have been fixed in with 2 screws.

The screws on one of the hooks have come loose and the rawl plug on the top screw has come partially out of the wall. As far as I can tell all that is keeping the hook up is the bottom screw/plug which is also loose and the fact that the hook plate has fallen slightly behind the interior window frame (PVC).

I tried tightening the screw back up with a screwdriver, but after a day it had simply slipped out with the plug again. The curtains have been up for about 4 years without any issue until just recently. The other hook is fine as is the other curtain pole in the room.

Can somebody advise how I can fix this please? In my head I think use some kind of filler and then fix the plug/screw into it, but I don't know if polyfilla etc. is strong enough once set to support curtains. Will it be a case of having to drill further into the wall?

I did search the forum quickly but could only see posts about fitting up new poles.

Thanks in advance :)

Sponsored Links