Flaking artex ceiling above shower back to plasterboard

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all, first post.

I had a search on the forum regarding flaking artex above a shower, and taken note regarding using the extractor fan and open window more often, but can't see any posts regarding what to do if back to plaster.

The paint coat has come away as has the actual artex layer leaving an area of exposed plasterboard.

I have yet to see if the plasterboard is damaged, but if not, would this be a case of re artexing and then painting?

Any ideas of the whole process and what materials and make of to use would be a great help.

Thanks in anticipation for any help you can give.

Rich

Sponsored Links
I'm no expert, but I have had experience of repairing damage to an Artex ceiling. Is it definitely Artex, or a textured paint?

Before you do anything, make sure that the problem which has caused the Artex to peel off in the first place has been rectified. If its long term damage from condensation, then judging by your post you know what you should be doing.

As long as the plasterboard in and around the damaged area is sound and dry, you should be able to reapply the textured coating and manage a decent repair. I purchased a tub of ready mixed Artex repair from my local DIY shop, rather than buying the powder and mixing it from scratch, and I achieved a passable match to an existing stipple pattern, eventually.

There's plenty of information online about ways in which to achieve the different textures. Practice the technique for duplicating your existing surface on a piece of old plasterboard or hardboard, and when you're confident enough that you can manage a decent match, go for it.

Very basic Artex repair product, advice and video here:

http://www.artexeasifix.co.uk/howdoi/how-to-repair-texture