Flat roof on garage - will this work?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all

I’m hoping there is someone out there that can give me some advise. Please keep any advise, or mocking, in laymans terms as I’ve never done this before so I can get very confused.

I want to replace my garage flat roof as it’s in a bad state and there is terrible condensation. I might as well go shower in the garage for the amount of water that drips down in winter. The idea is to do a quick and cheap job that only needs to last 3 years while I save enough to redo the garage properly. At the moment it is made up of plastic corrugated sheets fastened on the beams, which are fixed flat, horizontally at the top of the garage. There is virtually no ventilation.

My plan is below. I aim on adding some ventilation by raising the roof by 1-2cm and installing anti-condensation sheets. Can you please let me know any issues with it, or perhaps any better/easier ways of doing it. Remember, it doesn’t need to be perfect, just last 3 years :) . Any help would be greatly appreciated.

1. Remove current sheets. Check and treat beams.

2. I’ve got some pine strips from an old bed. To add some height to the roof and therefore provide the ventilation (i.e. small gap so the sheets don’t sit flush on the walls) I will attach these to the top of the beams.
a. I’m toying with the idea of adding multiple layers to the one side, decreasing as I move down, so as to give a degree or 2 of pitch. I don’t know if such a small pitch will add any value and it will complicate the fastening.
b. Another idea would to install the roof with no gap (as original) but add some type of venting. Although that sounds a lot harder than just raising the roof sheets a bit.

3. Fasten anti-condensation sheets with some slight overhang on the front and back sections so angled rain doesn’t get in the new gap.