Flat roof problems

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Warm greetings,
I am new to this section and would appreciate your guidance.
I need a new flat roof for both my garage and conservatory.
I am prepared to pay for the best.
I have looked at GRP, Evalon and Firestone EPDM rubber.
Which is the best? Or is there something even better?
They are both covered in felt at the moment, and the felt has a silicone paint solution on it.

Henry.

Sponsored Links
Not to be picky, but I seem to recall reading in some building regs document that to be a conservatory, the structure has to have a roof that is at least 75% light-transmitting.. A felted roof structure attached to your house might not be a conservatory?

No, it is an old add-on, from before conservatories were popular.
Call it what you like - 'Garden Room'?
It has a flat leaking felt roof.

Henry. :) :) :)

If you want to "pay for the best", then consider a gold leaf solution or lead or copper.

Otherwise EPDM will do

Sponsored Links
Thank you Woody!

Have you come across 'Roofkrete'?
It looks good but an expert opinion would be very helpful.

Henry. :)

No particular experience of roofkrete, but it looks like one of the newer liquid coatings of some sort - the ones that look like a tray of blancmange has been pour over the roof.

If so, I do know of this sort of product (although probably not actually roofkrete) on some high rise blocks which have experienced leaks since installation, and the contractors have been recalled several times under the 15 year warranty. But penetration points are hard to find.

Their site seems to have a lot of marketing spin, and I am dubious of the claims that this product will last the life of the building. That seems to be stretching things somewhat. Also, I did not see any BBA certification

But a 30 year [insurance backed] warranty would be good

A sand/cement membrane does not have the expansion capabilities of Felt/Asphalt/EPDM. Its marketing cobblers.