Foundations

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have obtained five quotes for a conservatory at the rear of the house.
There is a mature oak tree (with a TPO) in the garden approximately 8 m from the proposed rear wall/foundations of the conservatory.
Three companies have allowed for 1m foundations saying this will be adequate and two have quoted for piled foundations insisting this will be necessary given the possible spread of the tree roots.
To add to the confusion my preferred builder –who allowed for 1m foundations- has included in his fixed price quote a proviso that further costs may occur depending on ground conditions when they start digging. It is my view that any roots 8m away from the tree will be either too deep or sufficiently slender to be easily severed whilst excavating without harming the tree or the foundations – but I have no previous experience of this situation.
Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Sponsored Links
Personally I wouldn't touch any part of the tree unless it need urgent pruning, that's what a tpo is about! And a builder should know better as I they are cutting the root they'll be the ones in trouble/fined.
The trees roots could still be big enough to interfere with the footings, but you need to have a dig and have a look. Your preferred builder sounds a good bet to me

The foundation needs to be properly designed. With the greatest respect to them - the average builder is probably not equipped to do that. I recently dealt with an Oak 12 metres away which resulted in a 1.7m deep foundation. But your soil may be different. The maximum you can reasonably go is 2.5m deep. After that you need special foundations. Your builder that says it will be ok at 1m is an idiot. Strike him off the list. The one that says 1m deep but reserves the right to charge for more, KNOWS it will be more. 100% for sure! So he is taking a flyer that it will be more than 1m deep but less than 2.5m deep. But he has absolutely no way of knowing for sure.