Gas regulations regarding removing an oven glass top

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have a Rangemaster 550 oven which has a hinged glass top.
If the top is up with one of the rings burning and you put the lid down, the gas goes out, but if you lift the lid the gas starts again. According to the gas board man, who was in the house the other day, it now needs replacing as the current regulation say the gas should not come back on. It has always been like that and the manual says that is how it is supposed to work.

Theoretically, If I removed the glass top and hinge, would a gas man coming into the house to do work, say the cooker would need replacing.

Sponsored Links
If the manufacturers instructions say that's how it should behave then it's fine. Removing the glass top would be an unauthorised modification of an appliance and would render it technically unsafe for use

The Gas Man means it doesn't meet current standards, this doesn't mean it wasn't to current standards when it was produced.

If the manufacturers instructions say that's how it should behave then it's fine. Removing the glass top would be an unauthorised modification of an appliance and would render it technically unsafe for use

To be more customer friendly, I would word that as:

"If the manufacturers instructions say that's how it should behave then it's fine. Removing the glass top would be an unauthorised modification of an appliance and would technically render it unsafe for use."

Sponsored Links
Some models were available with and without a glass top!

Just been talking to the HSE Gas Safety Advice Line Technical dept and I explained what the Gas Board man said & he said "Load off Bol###ks". He also said you can still buy cookers which work the same way ie where the gas comes back on.

That puts this question to bed, thanks for all your help.

Yes stupid thing to say, you can't update a safety control to a completely different control.