Glowworm 38cxi hot water problem.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi everyone,

Im a gas safe registered engineer who is kind of new to the whole gas industry. im having trouble with a boiler and wondering if anyone could throw some suggestions my way, i've got a few ideas but need a second opinion. Basically for example if i run the bath tap and fill up the bath, first nice hot water will come out until the bath is just under halfway full, then it goes real cold and stays that way for about 3 or mins, at times longer, then slowly the hot water will come back, but by the time the bath is full its kinda to cold. The same thing happens in the shower as it is not electric. i thought it may either be the diverter valve or maybe scale build up in the heat exchanger. ive heard about a washer somewhere in this boiler that may need cleaning also. but know no info on this, but i didnt want to check any of these just incase i end up having to replace it and the issue is still there, so thought id ask around on here first.

any ideas anyone? its my girlfriends parents boiler so trying to sort it asap.

looking forward to your replies,

Thanks.

Read more: http://www.ukplumbersforums.co.uk/c...rm-38cxi-how-water-problem.html#ixzz1xEokKFW2

Sponsored Links
Common fault with these is the plate heat exchanger getting blocked .. Either take out and clean or just replace pretty easy to do .

Sponsored Links
The washer you may be referring to on these boilers, is the burner door seal. Check to see if it's been changed to graphite one. Should have G10 sticker near the door if been changed.

Some out there still not changed. Had one the other day.

Common fault with these is the plate heat exchanger getting blocked .. Either take out and clean or just replace pretty easy to do .

Wouldnt quite describe this as a "common fault" with the boiler. The boiler is only as good as the quality of the water and system it is on. Not the heatexchangers fault if its scaled.