heating water pump now not working

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by fuzzyone, 15 Mar 2012.

  1. fuzzyone

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2011
    Messages:
    158
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi guys,

    So my previous problem was the over run pump constantly running, the PCB was to blame and fitting a new one resolved this issue. http://www.diynot.com/forums/plumbing/heating-pump-constantly-on-y-plan-help-needed.314037/page-3

    Now the heating pump doesnt work! power is going to the wires, i even checked the wires going into the pump and the correct volts are there. The only thing that has changed is i have a builder fitting my kitchen, the control panel is hanging off the wall but is powered on.

    Not sure if he shorted something but power is going through, boiler fires up as normal but the heating pump is not powering on, tested with hot water and central heating, i turned hot water on only earlier and nothing, had to use the immersion for the shower.

    So is the pump dead or is there something else I can check for before calling in the experts?
     
  2. fuzzyone

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2011
    Messages:
    158
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just checked the over pump run terminal and it's still powered on even with the boiler off. Now it's kinda back to my original problem and the pump doesn't work now.
     
  3. eaton

    Joined:
    14 Jul 2008
    Messages:
    10,986
    Thanks Received:
    1,395
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Think you need to check wiring from scratch
     
  4. biscuit77

    Joined:
    27 Nov 2011
    Messages:
    227
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Stirlingshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you're getting 240v live to earth+ 240 live to neutral then your pump is facked.
     
  5. fuzzyone

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2011
    Messages:
    158
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So I guess my pump is knackered.

    Still doesn't explain why the pump overrun terminal is still showing 240 volts after 12 hours. Maybe my pcb faulty again? I just installed a new one 2 weeks ago
     
  6. fuzzyone

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2011
    Messages:
    158
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thought I updated, found out that a ground cable was loose when the program panel was being removed from the wall.

    Somehow this made the pump work again And the over run is working too. Strange.
     
  7. eaton

    Joined:
    14 Jul 2008
    Messages:
    10,986
    Thanks Received:
    1,395
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Pump overrun signal is sent from boiler not from the pump
     
  8. Agile

    Joined:
    26 Jun 2004
    Messages:
    55,758
    Thanks Received:
    3,672
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sometimes it makes me wonder why some people are so reluctant to call a professional !
     
  9. HERTSDRAINAGE2010

    Joined:
    9 Apr 2010
    Messages:
    5,946
    Thanks Received:
    837
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Tony, it means that the householder will have to part with their money!

    Andy
     
  10. fuzzyone

    Joined:
    28 Dec 2011
    Messages:
    158
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I believe if I can fix something safely myself I will do it, this also saves money and I learn the in and outs of the problem.

    If it was a big job then I'll call in the pros of course. Thanks to Dan Robinson on here, I managed to fix my boiler problem saving loads money. It was the pcb replacement.

    I thought this is why this forum exists? Either way I'm happy now until another problem occurs. :)
     

Share This Page