1. We are pleased to announce the 'Home Automation' forum. Click here to get involved!

heatline c24 boiler wont ignite after prepayment gas ran out

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by vixyb, 5 Jun 2008.

  1. vixyb

    Joined:
    5 Jun 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi

    Moved into a property with prepayment gas. It ran out and I topped up this morning. But now my heatline c24 boiler wont ignite and the led for check gas flow is flashing....im not sure if there is a cut off or anything...im a crap girl and no no one will help...please help

    x
     
  2. TicklyT

    Joined:
    30 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    3,480
    Thanks Received:
    336
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Not familiar with the boiler myself, but it may be worth turning off the electricity supply to the boiler for half a minute. That may reset everything.
     
  3. vixyb

    Joined:
    5 Jun 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    tried that...its like there is still no gas getting through to be ignited...the poor sparkey thing is trying to light it.
     
  4. JPC

    JPC

    Joined:
    10 Aug 2004
    Messages:
    1,568
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Leicester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    got a gas cooker ? to test gas supply
     
  5. vixyb

    Joined:
    5 Jun 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    no, fraid not... :S
     
  6. JPC

    JPC

    Joined:
    10 Aug 2004
    Messages:
    1,568
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Leicester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    gas fire ?

    if not you've got to buy another credit/or whatever to check...its the first and simplist thing to try.
     
  7. vixyb

    Joined:
    5 Jun 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    the credit is registered on the meter..it there an emergency cut off tht is triggered by zero credit perhaps?
     
  8. simond

    Joined:
    26 Oct 2004
    Messages:
    4,214
    Thanks Received:
    299
    Location:
    Surrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The prepayment meters can lockout, suggest you call in your gas supplier to check.
     
  9. Mark w

    Joined:
    9 Feb 2006
    Messages:
    16
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Merseyside
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As someone said the meters lock out, if you put your card back in and press and hold the red button untill you hear the clunk of the meter reopening, if you have done that look for a reset button on the boiler.
     
  10. vixyb

    Joined:
    5 Jun 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Mark, the meter thing worked. i now officially love you. thank you for all ur help guys!!! x
     
  11. Mark w

    Joined:
    9 Feb 2006
    Messages:
    16
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Merseyside
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    glad to hear, now its time to get meter changed apart from the most expensive way to pay for gas, there is nothing worse than driving around looking for a place open to re charge the card in the middle of winter when you have forgotten to put gas on it in the day.
     

Share This Page