HELP, Replacing Kitchen taps - Collet joints.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I just bought a new kitchen mixer tap as the old one was broke, but replacing it is not as easy as I thougt. I managed to remove the main holding nut to the taps, but can't remove the tail pipes from there joints. The way I understand it these joints (collet ??), is that I should just be able to pull them out but I cant do this. What do I need to do and will replacing them be easy.

More importantly, ive been unable to turn off the mains to the cold water. The stop cock I found didnt shut it off so Ive only stopped it by turning the screw in the middle of the joint shown below. Im worried this may not be sufficient for when I do manage to remove the pipe from the joint.

I am a complete novice but thought this job would be relatively easy.

Please help.

Sponsored Links
I Have now managed to isolate all the water at the main tap, was just very stiff, so now just need help replacing these joints. Any advice would be really appreciated.

Still desperate for help. Do these joints look re-usable or am I better cutting the pipe below this joint and fitting a new push fit connector and flexable connector?

Sponsored Links
you need to hold the speedfit isolator in one hand and push up. With the other hand push down on the grey coller it should slide flush with coller. then either lift tap up or push up on tail pipes. this should release it.

Thanks for the replies. Really appreciated. Unfortunately theyre stuck solid, the darker grey coller doesnt move up or down even under my full strength, and I cant pull the pipe out. Is there a plan B by any chance or a way of making this easier?